Paul’s homemade ice cream – truly the crème de la crème

All ice cream is not created equal. It’s really that simple.

Let me start by saying that I can’t believe that I’m writing a post about ice cream. But the world needs to know… Somehow & somewhere along the line (Twitter me thinks) I came across The Ice Cream King as he calls himself, Paul Ballen.

200ml1-e1352314452364

Paul has a relentless passion for ice cream that’s a long time coming. And I mean the good old stuff made by hand from wholesome, top-notch ingredients in his kitchen at home. I don’t consider myself an ice cream fanatic of any sort but summer or winter who doesn’t enjoy a good bowl? Ice cream definitely makes me think lots about my childhood in Cape Town. Those were the days of Hi Boys, Choc-o-lina’s & if you really had money a Sweetheart at R2.85!

While I’m not an ice cream snob, I am married to one & to this day I never partake of his habit, especially at R20+ a scoop the stuff in malls has just never seemed worth it to me. So you’ll understand that it was with a fair pinch of skepticism (what could be so special?) I decided to try Paul’s Homemade Ice Cream & ordered a couple of tubs (ok, ok, I ordered 10!) – delivered directly to our door by the The Ice Cream King himself.

224926_10152331891570293_1772144061_nIn the making – Peanut Butter & Pretzel flavour, my absolute favourite (since you’re making me choose!)

I went with Choc Nutella Oreo, Salted Caramel, & Peanut Butter & Pretzel as start & whipped them out after dinner one evening as a surprise dessert.

“What’s this? Where’s it from?” I could see the snobbery on his face right away 🙂 I was ordered to microwave it for 10 seconds (he doesn’t eat it any other way) & I knew I was onto something from the “mmm” sounds emanating from the other side of the couch. The Peanut Butter Pretzel flavour tasted heavily of peanut butter & had actual pieces of pretzel in it. Imagine that… Paul’s Homemade Ice Cream is rich & creamy & just tastes of goodness, of no corners cut to give you the best ice cream there could possibly be.

At just 23, Paul’s ice cream empire is well on its way. He’s stocked by a few coffee shops/restaurants like Love Food, Warm & Glad & Wolves & has even been featured recently on CNN.

One of twins, Paul is one of very few of us living his dream. His mission is to change the (lack of) ice cream culture in SA by serving us the old-school good stuff the way it’s meant to be.

In his words: “I dare you. Try Paul’s Homemade Ice Cream! Become an educated ice cream eater!”

W

http://paulshomemadeicecream.wordpress.com/

joburgicecreamking@gmail.com

082 885 9641

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in foodie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

