Hair lengths – explained!

There are so many new words & in particular acronyms I’ve had to wrap my head around since I’ve started my hair journey almost a year ago now. And yes, Google is fabulous but sometimes it’s just a little overwhelming – at times it felt like I was googling every 2nd word! JBCO (Jamaican Black Castor oil) , BC (big chop), EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) – how much time do you have because the list goes on & on…

It’s with that in mind that I’ve just swiped this chart off one of the hair care pages I follow, Nappy Sisters explaining the various hair lengths – I knew I had to share. Perhaps the one that’s been left off is  TWA (teeny-weeny afro).

These lengths can be referred to with or without shrinkage (usually with) but rather clarify with whomever you’re chatting to as there is a big difference between the 2 given just how much our hair shrinks.

Enjoy…

546487_478547482158289_1466051429_n

Can you imagine having to manage hair at tail bone length or longer! My arms hurt just thinking about it 🙂

My goal length for 2013 (i.e. by the end of the year) is NL (neck length) & I plan to give my hair loads of TLC to get there asap. Instead of focusing on length & curl definition like I did at the beginning of my journey, I have realised that if I just focused on having the healthiest hair possible, those things will inevitably come with it. Ultimately I would love to be at BSL (bra strap length) in a couple of years (why can’t it be sooner!?).

I’ll be doing a length check in a few short weeks (minus shrinkage) since it’ll be the 1 year anniversary of my big chop. I’m planning to go in-salon for a protein treatment & blow dry.

Are any of your hair goals related to length?

If you missed my most recent 9 month hair update post, check it out here.

Be kind to your hair….

W

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in my fro and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hair lengths – explained!

  1. Kirsten says:

    Hi there,
    I stumbled upon your blog last week and I absolutely love it. I’ve been natural for about 7 years now and it’s been a journey of tears, laughter and sometimes just utter shock. I finally managed to grow my hair to bsl, but sadly I had to trim off quite a bit on Friday as I had not had a decent trim in 14 months. On the up side my hair is much healthier and maintenance will be much much easier.
    Great blog and I look forward to seeing more updates about your hair journey.

  2. Hey Kirsten!
    Thanks for reading, glad you found me! Sorry about having to cut (I can only imagine) but you’re so right its better in the long run & I’m sure your hair looks great now. This natural hair journey isn’t the breeze I expected but I don’t know why I expected it to be easy at all! Loads more hair stories coming, so be sure to check back or even better, subscribe 🙂

Leave a Reply

