Lady Gaga – born this way in Jozi

Those who know me will know I’m not into music much.

I don’t own CD’s or an iPod & I can’t really say for sure why.  It’s in this spirit that I then naturally turned down a ticket to see Lady Gaga in the days running up to the concert. Little did I know I’d change my mind just hours before the event…

Lady Gaga arriving in SA at Lanseria

At 2:34pm on said Friday afternoon & still in my PJ’s I decided what the heck if nothing else, it ought to be quite a production. Then I was stumped for just a second on the logistics. How was I going to get there since my friend I was joining was coming from the ooooother side of the world & it was too late for this park & ride story. As if someone waved a magic wand, I remembered that the Mapungubwe Hotel literally across the road from where I live (12 steps, I counted!) offers return transfers to all the major events (concerts, rugby matches etc.) from the hotel for a steal of R60 per person. When I got there I found out the ticket also included a complimentary meal (burger, ribs or chicken salad) & soft drink – bonus!

Despite my unmusicalness (yes, I just made that word up!) I have been to some pretty cool concerts in the last while (U2, Coldplay, John Legend, Linkin Park) but none & I mean none of the fans I have come across have been as crazy, dedicated & loyal as Lady Gaga’s. Having arrived sans a pink wig, fish nets or glitter eyelashes, I felt more than just a tad under dressed I really felt like I wasn’t deserving of my seat.

20121130_201441

Minutes before the show started

And it was a production. It is really inexplicable. You have to have been there. She poured her heart into the night. And it showed. Easily a dozen+ costume changes in what felt like no longer than 5 seconds at a time. Her dancers are incredible. She did 2 encores & it wasn’t enough…

I watched the 60+ year old balding man dancing awkwardly in front of me as excited & captivated as the 12-year-old sitting next to me (with her slightly uncomfortable parents). What impressed me the most was Lady Gaga’s heartfelt message about self-acceptance. In her words the courage to “not give a f*ck” & not for a moment let up on your dreams. It’s a message I can’t do justice to in this post, you need to hear it from her mouth. It speaks to everyone across race ethnicity, age & sexual orientation. And it’s a message she breathes when, at just 26 years old she reminds us she was a waitress in NYC just 5 years ago.

I won’t be doing anything crazy like going to buy her CD or anything but I have such respect for her now when a few days ago I thought she was nothing more than an attention seeking fad.

A big thank you to Mari for inviting me. Officially a monster for life!

W

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

