Lady Blogger – Kickoff Event

I mentioned a few days ago that I was really looking forward to the inaugural Lady Bloggers event hosted by Zaahirah from Complete Disbelief.

The session went off really well on Saturday with about a dozen of us chatting away endlessly over really great coffee from Velo. The weather tried to rain on our parade but we wouldn’t have it 🙂

Some of the Lady Bloggers I got to meet

We bounced from topic to topic & touched on quite a few things that interested me:

  • what the ultimate/big picture goals are for our respective blogs
  • what the different platforms are that we blog on
  • how to start a blog & what to blog about
  • how often we blog & how to manage time constraints when working/studying
  • moving to fully hosted site
  • reviews – how to keep things balanced yet honest
  • how to use Pinterest/Tumblr to grow your blog

Follow up sessions will start in the new year & we decided to start with the techie stuff (really looking forward to this one!) & then ethics (PR etc.).

It may sound clichéd but the highlight of the day for me was connecting with other bloggers & sharing ideas. Some I knew from Twitter (always nice to put a face to the blog though) while others were new to me but in no time at all we were blabbing away. I left almost 2 hours later full of ideas & with lots to mull over in my head but mostly just inspired to keep building & improving my own blog. It’s good to know there are some enabling tools coming soon.

Zaahirah also mentioned that she’s working on a Lady Bloggers website (so cool!). If you missed this session or even if you don’t have a blog (yet) & are thinking about it you can definitely still sign up here for updates (even if you’re not in Jozi).

Looking forward to many, many more!

W

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in techie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lady Blogger – Kickoff Event

  1. Hi Wisaal 🙂

    Thanks so much for posting! I’m just so glad everyone had a good time! I am seriously excited to get the workshops going (I’ve been up since 6am doing the website).

    Really glad you had a great time 🙂

  2. safiyab says:

    Looks like you guys had a great time!! Wish I was in Joburg to join you guys!! Now I’m excited to attend the one in Cape Town!:)

  3. It was a really cool session on so many levels. Hope it comes to CT soon! I’m so looking forward to the workshops next year…

Leave a Reply

