ORS HAIRepair Workshop

I mentioned on the weekend that I was undecided about going to the
ORS HAIRepair Workshop so let me start by saying that I’m so glad I bit the bullet & went! I’d heard about the event online but my skepticism came from the
last hair event I went attended but this one could not have been more different…

It all went down at The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Rosebank this past Saturday 10th November. The main point of differentiation was the fact that it was a workshop & not an expo, which is the usual format for hair care events that I’ve seen.

Also, true to it’s name the HAIRepair Workshop was owned by one brand – Organic Root Stimulator (ORS) who partnered with True Love Magazine. There was a huge focus on education & sharing of info which I really liked. Part of the appeal was that it covered all kinds of hair from natural, to weaves, braids & dreadlocks. There were no exclusions so there was something for everyone because after all, we are all on our own hair journeys.

Unfortunately renowned hair guru Dr Reggie couldn’t make it but he did send a video in apology (really nice touch) & shared some of this thoughts on hair. I really liked what he had to say about women being more than the sum total of our hair & to stop the bashing of others’ choices.

Our hosts for the day were Martin Kapfumvuti from ORS, a senior educator from the brand as well as the team from True Love Magazine. Martin shared that he had studied trichology (the branch of medicine that deals with the scientific study of the health of the hair & scalp) in Australia!

The event was quite intimate – they’d setup for 50 ladies but the turnout was closer to 30. I actually liked this as I got a chance to really connect with a number of ladies. It also made the session unintimidating & ladies really felt free to ask their questions (that could be a bit embarrassing in larger forums) & really engage in the discussions.

We were left with a better understanding of the ORS range which was particularly useful for me as a new natural because there so many products in the lineup that at times I found it quite overwhelming in-store trying to make a purchase decision. We were also armed with info on how to use ORS products correctly as the ORS lineup is quite concentrated & a little goes a really long way.

A few lucky ladies walked off with some very generous prizes including sunglasses, ORS hampers & True Love Magazine subscriptions!

We covered a wide range of topics through Martin’s presentation. The discussion & questions that came up were great. We talked about kiddies hair care, alopecia (receding hair lines), hair care for men, what a regime should consist of, dry scalp vs. dandruff, transitioning & balancing moisture to name a few.

We had some intense debates on a few topics that I really enjoyed e.g. what natural hair really is & the use of natural oils (coconut oil, castor oil etc) & caucasian hair care products. Even though I disagreed with some of the info shared my philosophy is that while there will always be loads of info out there, you need to take out from all of it what works for you. Knowledge is most definitely power!

 

We were introduced to the ORS new Curls Unleashed range. There was also a demo done on a model using this new range & with her hair set in curlers (note her hair is relaxed though). I love the tagline of the range ‘nature got it right the first time’.

We all had an opportunity to do a hair & scalp analysis which I had done before but not since going natural. The machine is able to magnify by a thousand times & from this picture Martin was able to advise each lady on the state of their hair & scalp & recommend products from the ORS range based on that diagnosis. Ok, I have to admit I had some OCD concerns here with this being used on everyone’s hair. They had some baby wipes on hand but I didn’t ever see them being used & I think it should have been anti bacterial wipes instead.

The True Love Magazine team with editor Lerato Tshabalala (right). It was my 1st time meeting them and the True Love team are really down to earth & related well to their readers. They have great style too!

I love meeting ladies at these events & ogling at all the different hairstyles. How cute is this red turban? I also (finally!) got to meet fellow blogger Matlhodi from FroChic (left) – we chatted for ages about so many things, she’s lovely!

This post wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t tell you about the goodie bags 🙂 We got a selection of items but the highlight was definitely the ORS silk bonnet. It was really cute  & came in red – much better looking than my doek! It’s not an item that ORS sells so that made it even more special. I was a bit disappointed that the ORS samples included were quite sparse – we received 2 sachets of anti-breakage creme. I was really looking forward to trying a few more products from their lineup.

We were really well fed throughout. In addition to welcome drinks & snacks on arrival we ended the event with a super yummy 3 course meal.

Overall the ORS HAIRepair Workshop was definitely a success. It was well organised & professional from start to end. I think at R200 per ticket the pricing was fair & offered value. However, (& maybe this is just my marketing brain at work) I do still think that so many more women need to be reached with this invaluable information & that the cost is an inhibitor for some. An idea could be to cut down on the food & even have a less swanky venue (although I loved it) to make it more accessible to a wider audience (but still keep it relatively intimate).

I really enjoyed the HAIRepair Workshop & am I so glad that I invested the time & energy to go. It was a bit short but it could have gone on all day & I’d have been well entertained!  This has set the bar for hair care events in SA in the future. I hope they run a similar event again next year – I’ll certainly be back!

Sidenote: I was over the moon when True Love Magazine editor Lerato Tshabala approached me after the event to ask if I’d be keen to be photographed for their street style pages. Eek! I was wearing my new Common Thread dress out for the 1st time, really love it! I think it will be out in the January or February 2013 issue, keep you posted!

Be kind to your hair!

W

PS it’s now 9 months since my big chop & I’ll be doing a post on my progress this week!

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ORS HAIRepair Workshop

  1. Tendayi says:

    Why did they do the Curls Unleashed demo on someone with relaxed hair? I thought they were marketing it for natural / curly hair?

    • Curls Unleashed is designed for a wide range of Hair texture and is not exclusive to unprocessed hair as long as you need to texture and maintain frizz free hair you can use the range with a good understanding for your hair needs.

  2. Hey Tendayi.
    This came as a surprise to most in attendance too! So apparently its fine for relaxed hair as well if they want to create some curls…
    W

  3. Let me address a few things. The scoping Machine is sterilized for each client with Herbal Cleanse which has antiseptic properties and the wet wipes are to wipe off excess alsothe probe rarely contacts the skin.

  4. Hi Martin,
    Thanks for the feedback. W

  5. msanifo says:

    Is this a black owned company?

Leave a Reply

