My Bali dreams…

The day after our wedding we raced back to Jozi, unpacked, repacked & ran off on honeymoon. The destination was a surprise to me till about a month or so before when I was presented with a gorgeous gift box including items like Crabtree & Evelyn’s India Hicks Island Living, my favourite Clinique sunscreen & right at the bottom of the box, two Lonely Planet guides… for Bali & Malaysia (a quick stopover).

My brief (yes, I had a brief!) had been beach & shopping & he’d got it exactly right!

We stayed at the 5* Nikko Bali Resort & Spa, in Nusa Dua on the south coast, a quieter part of the province for 8 decadent days. Our room was sea facing & on the 6th floor. The view went on & on. This goes down in the books as one of my best hotel stays ever.

Nusa Dua is well-known for its picture-perfect beaches. The stretch of beach that the Nikko Bali is on is a private beach so it was pristine & almost deserted. As you can see, I couldn’t get enough. Whenever I’m stressed these days I look at this picture & just imagine being right back in this moment…

Bali is affectionately known as the ‘island of a thousand temples’ & they really are everywhere you look in the most unexpected places. There is said to be more temples in Bali than there are houses. This was taken at Uluwatu Temple, one of the most breathtaking temples we visited.

I know its clichéd but you can’t be in Bali & not think Eat, Pray, Love. We didn’t quite find Ketut but I thought we came close 🙂

I love this picture of the rice fields, it looks like a painting….

On one of the days we hired a car & driver (surprisingly affordable) to take us to all the (off the beaten track) sights we wanted to be at. Of course a coffee/tea tasting on one of the farms was a must. I had my first taste of the world’s most expensive coffee, kopi luwak – coffee beans that’s been er defecated from a civet. At $100 for 100g that’s some really expensive sh*t! 🙂

We ran into these cuties at the rice fields. There is undoubtedly poverty in Bali & beggars & children (usually selling some kind of trinkets) are everywhere tourists are…

Glorious sunset over Seminyak Beach. One of the best experiences we had was a seafood dinner grilled & served right on the beach.

Motorcycles are everywhere in Bali & by far the preferred way that locals get around. Managed to take this shot just as school was out. Cute!

There’s so much of the world I still want to see & Bali  is top of my list of place to go back to. Writing this post has made me miss it a lot, so here’s hoping it’s really soon!

W

Nikko Bali Resort & Spa
Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, 80363, Bali – Indonesia
+62 361 773 377

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Bali dreams…

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you
    might be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back later in life.

    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts, have a
    nice morning!

Leave a Reply

