Shoes, glorious shoes!

The answer to why women love shoes, dear men, is that they always fit.

And so my love for pastry and anything sweet has had me particularly attached to mine. The ongoing challenge though as I continued to cave, was having some kind of system/storage solution for my beauties.

At first my system was essentially 3 woven baskets (the biggest I could find), placed on the floor of my cupboards and I simply poured the shoes in. The result? A 10 minute rummage every morning and rather smelly clothes. I wish I did have a pic to show you the disaster that was…

By the late 2000’s I knew I needed an intervention and so I invested in the crystal shoes box system. It was relatively cheap (+- R120/R130 for 10 standard boxes, boot boxes were more pricy) and worked ok. The problem came with stacking them. Firstly they needed to be stacked up against a wall & I lived in a matchbox where wall space was at a premium. Then, at about 6/7 boxes high I’d run into severe problems with one of the lower boxes usually succumbing, causing a tumble. #cantdeal

Last year when we moved into the city and we didn’t get that 3rd bedroom I’d been dreaming of, I knew it was time to upgrade and so my walk-in dream was born. Floating shelves were no quick fix (at R150 – R180 per shelf plus they need to be professionally installed) but they have served me really well. My shoes are all beautifully displayed & get aired well (I had the installation done next to a window) and they’re all at my fingertips. One downside is that they do get dusty though, so Flora knows to give them all a wipe down even second week or so.

Boots I pack out seasonally and have simply packed at bottom of my clothes rails, with cardboard inserts in each leg so that the boot stands up straight like in shop windows instead of flopping over.

My ultimate shoe storage solution though (when I have the space and funding one day!) has got to be this unit, spotted at a cute store in Cape Town, called Nap. It’s the best of both the crystal shoe box and floating shelves solution I think. It’s made of clear, hardwearing perspex , so it’s completely see through, (& won’t cave in under pressure!) and each pair of shoes has its own “drawer”. Each drawer then has holes cut out for airing and the entire unit is on wheels so you can easily move it around. I can’t quite remember the price but it did leaving me gasping plus it would need shipping from Cape Town….

Shoes aside, what I’ve come to learn is that though, is if you live in a state of constant disorder (yes, I did once!), you don’t really fully enjoy the things you do have because it’s not easily accessible and you forget it’s there in amongst all the clutter. And going out shopping only really adds to the problem…

So I’d love to know – how do you store/organise your shoes? Please do tell!

PS for dreamy daily shoe inspiration see my earlier post on The Daily Shoe.

W

Stockists

Crystal shoe box – www.crystalbox.co.za

Floating shelves – @home – www.home.co.za

Perspex unit – Nap www.capequarter.co.za/Interior-Decor  OR

Check out this site this site I stumbled on: Form Function www.ultimateshoebox.com

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

