My walk-in dream

I’ve never ever ever ever ever really had enough space for my stuff. And I have a lot of stuff.

I know you’re thinking shoes. But it’s not just shoes. I’ve had many moments of not being able to close my fridge after a quick trip to Pick n Pay. 8 years of living in 4 pint-sized Jozi townhouses does that.

Space is the ultimate luxury.

So now I’m in my 9th year of my love affair with this city. And I just moved into my (our!) 5th matchbox. It has 2 bedrooms. Problem. Solution? Make lemon pie. So I did.

It was time to get (more) organised. With my husband’s blessing (read financing) I decided to turn my second bedroom into a walk-in closet.

The room is 3.5m x 3.5m. It was bare except for a built-in cupboards & drawers which stretched along the length of one of the walls. What helped a lot was that it had high ceilings and loads of natural light. It was a work-in-progress for at least 2 months. I was anxious to get it all done, especially towards the end, but I’m glad I took the time needed to find (& make in places) the right pieces.

  Welcome 🙂 PS shoes off at the door, this is a shoe free zone… 🙂

This 2.3m x 1m mirror was the very last item to finish off my closet. I knew that I needed a HUGE mirror and that it should have a steel frame but after weeks of scouting stores (new & antique) and various markets, I eventually decided to have one made. It took a month from ordering to delivery but it’s exactly what I wanted!

This mannequin was my very first purchase when I started dreaming about having a walk-in closet, 3 years and 1 match box ago. I really love it and its been surprisingly handy – these days its part decor and part functional – I use it as a coat stand.

To create extra space, I bought a chrome cupboard/rack and industrial clothing rails from National Displays. This place is an absolute gem and to think that I found them by chance.

 All the hanging items are arranged by category, starting with jackets on the first aisle on your right as you enter.  Folded items are arranged by colour. For additional space, I placed boxes on the roof of the chrome rack, each box housing swimwear, slippers & accessories (gloves, scarves etc).

  This is where I usually sit and powder my nose 🙂

  

The next aisle has dresses on your left as you enter (arranged by occasion i.e. work, casual, formal and my wedding dress right at the end!). To maximise space, the rail on the opposite side is a double rail (since the items aren’t floor length like dresses for example) & houses tops on the upper rail and then skirts and pants share the bottom rail.

 

 Definitely my happy place 🙂

To optimise space I’ve put my boots & other winter shoes in storage.

I’ve put within reach the day-to-day handbags I usually use regularly for work.

 

My bookcase with some odds n ends including my mani/pedi and hair station.

This chest of drawers is where I keep all my delicates and I decided to add some trinkets on top, most importantly my fragrances and jewelry boxes – quick and easy to reach.

On top of the chrome rack mentioned earlier, are boxes housing various items I need on hand – swimsuits, scarves and in the pic above, clutches for that special night out.

 

This caught my eye in-store one day and while it was intended for something else, I thought it’d make a cool way to organise my belts – I just slip this unit inside one my drawers.

 

Broader belts (don’t we all need some cinching!) I’ve left hanging on my rail on a tie organiser.

To finish off the space I added an ottoman in case a weary friend cared to join me and a diffuser to keep the room smelling pretty.

While this space isn’t perfect (can one ever have enough space?), I do treasure this little corner I’ve created, it’s certainly made getting ready in the mornings a tad less laborious!

If you’re keen to start creating your own space, here are some stockists that will get you well on your way:

And if you need a handyman to put it all together, Jan from Professional Handyman quotes for free & hasn’t disappointed me yet – 076 012 2516.

Good luck, let me know how yours turns out.

W

About Wisaal

Reformed shopaholic. Absent sister. Unapologetic perfectionist. Trainee wife. Severe OCD. Cat person.
This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My walk-in dream

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. makhosazane says:

    Love your walk-in-dream, am inspired!! Ypu’ve also given me so many ideas for storage that I can use in our current matchbox and I fully agree with you on the space issue. I think I will need two bedrooms for my dream master bedroom on Johannesburg.

  3. makhosazane says:

    Reblogged this on makhosazane and commented:
    So in love with Wisaal’s walk-in-dream, it is every girls dream!!

  4. Thanks madam, hope you’ve put some of those ideas you mention into practise, shout if you need help and let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

